Third Person Shooter - Aiming at Crosshair

(This all may seem obvious to anyone having worked on this before but this is my first time encountering it and it took me a little bit to work through the issues.)

The premise is pretty straightforward: With a third person shooter, how can I ensure that projectiles coming from the character will have the expected trajectory when the actual aiming is done with a crosshair?

I have a crosshair drawn in the middle of my HUD, in the center of the screen. It indicates the center of the camera for the character. My camera is above and behind my character (to the right) so that I can see the character clearly.

https://i.imgur.com/6eeo04Y.png (Crude MSPaint representations drawn from above to better show the issue I’m facing)

When I want to fire a projectile, I do a Line Trace by Channel from the camera’s location (center of the crosshair) to a point 5000 units away (using the camera’s “forward” vector). This gives me the location of either a colliding object or the location of the end of the trace.

I use the above location and the character’s world location in a Find Look At Rotation to find the correct rotation of the projectile and spawn it at the character’s location.

The end result is that projectiles fired from the character will hit the point where your crosshair is pointing. This is good and works well as long as you are accurate with your crosshair.

So let me describe a scenario. You’re shooting at an enemy, headshot headshot headshot because you’re a pro. But then your cat bumps your arm and your crosshair is slightly off - just to the left of the player’s head. But instead of the projectile whizzing by their ear, it ends up being several feet to the left. The reason for this is that the initial line trace went out 5000 units, way beyond the target and hit open air. The projectile is then launched towards that far-away point and the trajectory makes it miss the player by a LONG shot rather than barely missing.