Things to avoid doing with multiplayer in mind for the future?

Hello, I’m just a beginner with 3 months into a project starting from 0 knowledge on scripting/blueprinting. I know certain things cause issues with multiplayer, and my goal is to have multiplayer in my game whenever it’s done, though that will take years. So, what can I avoid doing now to make integrating multiplayer easier later on?

I’ve seen on various topics people suggest avoiding event tick as it is based on frame rate, so I’m using delay loops triggered by an event instead. I would guess that the Get Player Character node should either not be used or be added onto at a later date, since index 0 would mean only the 1st player? I’m also avoiding using bindings in widgets as I’ve heard that is far more taxing on performance than simply making the code yourself to set texts and whatnot.

I just don’t want to make my game impossible/ridiculous to make multiplayer by using easily avoidable techniques, so help me out! Thanks.

Okay, but how do I do that? I don’t know where to make a decision based on the fact I want multiplayer.

My inspiration for multiplayer would be things like Dark Souls and I guess even Watch Dogs, the drop-in invasion style PVP and even co-op. Who knows, that might be even harder than a shooter with 12v12 lobbies.

I guess my question then is: will I just be completely screwing myself over for later if I make an entire game and then try to add multiplayer, or is it still possible, yet incredibly difficult, later on?

I could just make it a purely singleplayer experience and it would be largely the same, but I feel for longevity’s sake, multiplayer adds hours and hours .Just look at Dark Souls, if there weren’t invasions, it would be dead already, yet there’s still multiple large channels on YouTube and the player count is quite good for a 2 year old game.