The Quest For Answers

So I know I am not a programmer more of a script kiddie, I don’t think the blueprint directions helps me, I prefer to just see the code I guess. I think this is where I am weak right now and or perhaps its a relationship mis-understanding there are far to many pointers to separate blueprints you could say. However I think I am 90% of the way there its just holy **** soon as I follow the pathing and figure it out I got to start all over again because it was too long to remember it all and be certain of.

So Questions, and this all revolves around me just setting up what I would call a pawn in UDK3 and getting the animation tree working with he pawn moving around.

is a “State Machine” really needed if you already have a “Blend Space”? If so why or do I have to have both?

In the below link scroll down to inputting data the Direction & Speed green nodes I can not seem to find them to use them can anyone point the way?

So if I copied over the event graph for the control and movement input from the 3rd person tutorial & created my own mesh in the component and setup the camera / boom etc. It references my animation blueprint and etc and the mesh is running the idle animation and capable of jumping but I can not seem to move in any direction or control it from there. I think its because I need to finish setting up my aningraph and eventgraph in my animation blueprint. Would one agree?