The pains of game development in unreal engine 4. [Mini rant]

**TLDR:**Unreal engine threw a hissy fit, bugged out and ate my game. This is my attempt to entertain others while talking about my journey.

Hello all! A little bit of a disclaimer here before I rant away:

1. Everything in this post is in no way to be taken aggressively. Although this story is 100% true, I am not angry about the events that occurred. I still love Epic and everyone involved, this is all awesome, in my opinion.
  2. I am a c++/visual basic/c# programmer of many years. Eight, to be exact. I am only saying this so you can somewhat gauge my expertise.
  3. Just to get a feel for blueprints, I decided to do this entirely in blueprint if possible. I have coded entire game engines in C++, and it would be nice to have a break from C++ for a change.
  4. Before the 10th of march this year, I have had no experience at all with unreal engine. However, I picked it up somewhat quickly, as it’s not too different from anything else.
  5. I started on unreal engine version 4.9, and ended on 4.11.
  6. This is just what I feel is an entertaining way of blowing off steam. I do not want to report a bug/etc. I just want to express how unreal has made me feel.

That said, Please allow me to spin you my tale of woe. I decided to post this here, because the things I faced were not really things that could be fixed by the answer hub really, and some of these problems were just lightly documented.

I am a small indie game dev, who will perhaps become noted one day. I work with others on and off, contract, no contract and with help of friends. Often, I am just coding/ designing / working alone. I find it fun to create. (don’t we all?)