The Outer Rift

Ok, I have this grand vision in my head, but I have never used Unreal before and don’t even know if it can do the things I dream of doing, but hey, that’s why I am talking about it first, right?

Basically, the idea is that the game play is similar Mass effect + Dragon Age Inquisition, and the plot is inspired by a game called Star Control 2. You are one of 16 characters spread out among 4 classes. Humanity has just finally won a massive and terrible war against an alien race, and is in the throes of recuperation. You have been assigned to a ship as the Captain/Security Chief/Engineer/(A fourth class that I am uncertain of the exact name of yet), and have been given a mission directly from the High Council of the Terran Confederate (Well, not directly. More like they needed this to be done, and someone found you guys and signed you up). Looking back through the data files from before the war, there was a human research outpost established on the other side of the alien race’s empire. When the war began, no one was willing to spare a ship to go all the way through enemy territory to help out a research outpost. That would have been suicide. But now that the war is over, you might as well check.

You ride you ship to the planet in question, but when you go into orbit, disaster strikes! So sort of field surrounding the planet damages the ship’s techobabble, and you end up crashing onto the planet. Only you, the other 3 character classes, and some of the emissaries from the assorted alien races survive the crash. As you begin to take note of the strange land you find yourself in, you soon discover that this world has magic, like from the fairy tales of Old Earth.

Your mission now has 3 parts

1. Understand this “magic” and see if it can be brought off planet
  2. Remind the lost humans of this world that they serve the Terran Confederate, by any means necessary.
  3. Find a way off this rock.

Sorry to tell you that, but start small. Stay realistic.