The Import Struggle is real (C4D Edition)

Hey Everyone,

I am brand new to Unreal Engine, but I have been a 3D modeler and motion graphics artist for more than 15 years. My software of choice is Cinema 4D and After Effects primarily, and I have a fair amount of experience with VizRT and XPression.

Right - so I have been tasked with taking a scene built in C4D which is currently being used as a virtual set for a popular sports-talk show and bringing it into UE with the goal of having it feel more alive with dynamic reflections, shadows, etc instead of the lifeless baked AO and such they are using currently. Since there is some UE integration with Viz now, the time is right to start leveraging the benefits of this and give the visual fidelity of Viz scenes the boost they have long needed, and this seems like a good place to start as the geometry is VERY basic (mostly chevrons and some flat-ish cubes).