Texture Pixelated Coming from Substance Painter

I’m getting my feet wet with Substance painter and I’m getting some strange results with a basic stylized rock I’m working on. The actual design is not fully complete yet and I’m just trying to get used to the workflow. The rock was made in blender.

Here is the rock in substance painter:

Here is the rock in UE4 Viewport:

Here is the super basic UE4 material:

Please note the strange pixelated/discolored noise on the UE4 rock faces! It is much more noticeable in the editor than the screenshot for some reason. I’ve tried so many different settings and I can’t get the gradients to be smooth! The textures are 2k 8-bit PNG exported with Unreal Engine 4 (Packed) painter defaults.

I’m not worried about the roughness/specular not matching up because I can manually tweak those after this issue is resolved.

I’m still an amateur when it comes to substance painter and materials in general, so I’m hoping it’s just a texture setting.

Thank you so much in advance!!

Probably from DXT compression. You can try setting your texture compression to “Vector Displacement” if you don’t care about your memory usage. (edit: to be clear, these settings are in UNREAL, not Substance Painter…)

Otherwise you’re probably just going to have to deal with it.

There may be more flexible compression options coming soon now that Epic has aquired Oodle.

1 Like

Hey thanks for the response!! Changing compression to BC7, Default (DXT5), or Vector Displacement does seem to solve the issue! 20+MB for one very simple rock base color texture seems a bit extravagant though? What is a reasonable size for an asset like this?

If you have another moment, I’d love your feedback on an alternative I was thinking of!

Would it be more efficient to bring in a lower-res greyscale mask for highlights and do the work in the material? It would be simply multiplying a color by the mask and blending it with a base color.