Texture Packing for UE5 - Feedback Welcome

Nanite and Lumen slightly alter the focus of how textures are handled in UE5 (for example legacy AO is set to be superseded by Lumen), so I wanted to revisit the texture packing method I’ve been using on my projects up until now because the more I read, the more I realised how un-optimised and redundant it was. Even with the advances in poly count for meshes in Lumen and the help provided by virtual texturing, there’s still no getting around the limits of the good ol’ texture pool. I’m by no means an expert in compression standards or how unreal handles them so I wanted to improve my knowledge by throwing this over to the community. Any feedback on this is much appreciated.

This process is inspired by a few forum posts here –
https://polycount.com/discussion/184005/normal-map-compression-and-channel-packing
https://forums.unrealengine.com/t/using-red-and-green-channels-as-normal-map-and-using-blue-as-mask/104587/10
and this article -
https://www.reedbeta.com/blog/understanding-bcn-texture-compression-formats/

For this exercise I’ll be focusing on opaque materials without a height map only – I think for most games these types of textures form the majority of background props and can be used for things like grass, gravel, sand, bricks, rocks, wood, metal surfaces etc.

The first material graph is my current ‘catch all’ for most static materials (for translucent material I’d normally add the alpha to the alpha channel of the basecolour RGBA).