Texture deformation on landscapes

I’m new to Unreal and am learning the engine by attempting to build a nice looking landscape. I’ve done the Zbrush and World Machine stuff, and have a nice height map, splat map, macro colour and normal maps, and a set of tiling textures to use. I generated my landscape in Unreal using my world machine height map and made a simple shader which combines my tiled textures and splat map using a Layer Blend node. It should be a good basis to build on, except I have one big problem - Unreal is planar mapping the landscape, so the more vertical a surface gets, the more distorted the texture becomes.

My UVs come from a Landscape CoOrds node, which I guess is the cause of the problem. Is there any way to correct for this, and so allow cliff edges and steep mountain sides to have aspect correct texturing?

Thanks!

Looking at the nice hang glider demo which comes with Unreal, there is no deformation on the landscape Epic supply. The material used on this landscape is astoundingly complex, and far beyond my beginner level Unreal skills. It does however work as a landscape shader should, and allow surfaces of any angle with no deformation in the texture. It doesn’t use any of the standard Landscape Layer Blend techniques used in every Landscape tutorial, and Epic themselves have never explained it, other than to mention it in a Twitch stream and say “it’s complex”.

So in short, I’d like a nice easy way to stop landscape textures being distorted on steep bits of terrain. Surely there must be a way to do this which doesn’t require a gigantic shader network with no tutorial to explain how such a thing is constructed?

Thanks! That did the trick. I had to use a Texture Object instead of a Texture Sample to get it to work, but other than a bit of fiddling with the settings, it works very nicely.

It’s too bad this isn’t the way LandscapeCoOrds works!

Glad to hear! Show us a shot of it in action!