Terraforming Land

I’m fairly new to UE4 and have my mind set on a small sandbox indie. I have currently been trying to have the player able to dig up the land raising its height or lowering it, but have no idea where to start. I have 0% experience with blueprint and have not been able to find anything that could further my education with this topic. Any help is appreciated :smiley:

That’s not an easy task :slight_smile:

Here you can get more information/thoughts about it:
https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?4224-How-to-do-deformable-Terrain-meshes-textures
https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?33972-Terrain-Deformation
https://forums.unrealengine/showthread.php?10457-Editable-terrain-in-game

Could the functionality of the editors landscape and paint tools be highjacked and re-purposed for something like this?

I think when you have a good C++ knowledge, it should be somehow possible (but dont ask me how :p)

It is entirely plausible that you could port that aspect of the editor over to the game with the full source. I’d expect it to involve a fair bit of work, but it’s certainly achievable.

Also note this would probably be something where you wouldn’t want to try and do it in a multiplayer aspect, due to the fact of synching all of the data that would need changed could become a huge task. It’s still one of the reasons we rarely see teraforming in games that isn’t a faked minecraft solution where you remove chunks or add chunks back. aka remove and adding static meshes.