Tank Controls - Barrel with mouse, Base with keys?

Hey everyone,

I am new to Unreal Engine and have created a tank model. I have it in 2 separate static meshes TankBase and TankBarrel.

I created a blueprint first person project from the template and imported the model all went well.

What I am wondering is how I go about modifying the blueprint to allow the barrel and camera to rotate along the horizontal axis with the mouse X but have the tank heading independent using A and D to rotate the tanks base.

I tried opening the default character blueprint which is created and dragging the base and barrel into the blueprint and sized them up and set their location how its meant to be.
However when I go into the blueprint and set MouseX as the event I tried Set Actor Rotation, Set Relative Rotation but all I could find was using an actor as the target and I was unable to work out how to do rotation on the static mesh component from the component section of the blueprint.

any push in the right direction would be great.

Probably want this in blue prints section not content creation.

Yes in your character pawn blueprint is where you would setup both the tank_base and the tank_Barrel and the camera boom and camera in the components section.

Then you probably want to setup a simple blend with the tank treads moving and turning IE the tanks actual movement forget about the turret at first.

Now you got a tank moving the way you intended with the tracks and what it sounds like you want is the turret to be tied to the camera and swivel based on camera direction.