switching from quest3d

Hi I’m thinking about switching from quest3d to either unreal or unity.
Unity has a lot of third party visual scripting tools, I see that unreal has this thing called blueprints.
I was wondering if you can really do everything with blueprints or beyond some basic actions you’ll have to rely on traditional scripting.
Consider that I’m an artist, I can handle a visual scripting tool but I’m totally scared by code.
I’d like to hear your opinions, consider that with quest3d I really never write a single line of code, every single aspect of the game is handled by visual logic.

hi

Yeah you can do pretty much w/e you want with blueprints : check this video http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JFZCp4xsPmo. And the best part is that you have the same perfs with blueprints and pure C++ code. (at least for no AAA games i guess).

You can do kind of everything small to medium sized game needs. But best way is to work with hybrid approach of blueprints and c++ code in mind.
You prototype everything in blueprints, then you ask programmer to make new blueprint nodes for you, or simply move your prototypes to C++ level.
There are people reporting problems and crashes, lost and corrupted files with blueprint. So C++ is safer for now.

If you are making some small game or prototype, blueprints are fine. But when you start thinking about real game, you need somebody who can move all your blueprints to C++.
Also for bigger teams than 1 or 2 people, you need some kind of version control (like git). Bigger you go more C++ you need.

But do not worry hardest thing with programming for Unreal is learning all those classes, variable types and what they are for and how to use them.
You learn all that while working with blueprints. Then programming will be mostly writing fuunction calls instead of dragging lines, not much difference.