Switch BP Actor at runtime using UMG

Hi, I’m a complete beginner with Blueprints.

I want to start my Archviz scene and be able to change my couch to another couch, or a chair to a different chair using UMG buttons and widgets.

I followed this tutorial - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rfcTM1jfbsM

Although this is for characters I thought it would be the same process.

I followed up until 03:25 into the tutorial when a GetPlayerCharacter Node was placed. When I tried that and compile I get error, “The Blueprint is not an ActorComponent”. Someone told me if you are casting to an object ( like couch) you need to use GetOwner Node, but that doesnt help either.

Any help would be great. Basically I want to start my Archviz scene, walk around and change meshes via UMG buttons.

I tried to use Variant Manager but got so lost.

You need to get a reference to the in-scene Actor whose mesh you want to change. The video is changing meshes on the player character, so it’s getting a reference to the character using the global function GetPlayerCharacter. That won’t work for you because your couch or whatever is not the player character.

Your in-scene objects are most likely StaticMeshActors. You can check their BP class by looking in the World Outliner - the rightmost column should have the class name. If it is a Static Mesh Actor, once you have a reference to it you should be able to directly get its Static Mesh Component and set the mesh on that.

Getting the reference to the specific in-scene StaticMeshActor you want to change is a bit trickier. One way could be to assign a unique Tag to each StaticMeshActor and use GetAllActorsWithTag to get the references (you’d have to cast the output to a StaticMeshActor).

This would be easier to explain with a BP screenshot, but I don’t have access to my editor at the moment…