Download

Swarm - What is it and how to use it?

Apologies if this is a newbie question but my background is coming from Linux and I don’t have any UDK experience.

I’ve searched the wiki and these forums but can’t find basic info on Swarm.

So from usage and Google searches re UDK I am guessing that Swarm is a program within the Unreal4 engine that manages mulitple clients to undertake distributed compilation of primarily Lightmass solutions but possible other aspects of maps.

My questions for you fine folks are:

1. Am I correct above in describing Swarm or does it do something differently than this?

2. Is there documentation available for its set up or operation?

3. Do I need to install the full Unreal Engine on the distributed clients or is there a sub-set I can use (what is the minimum client to place on slaves?)?

4. [Unlikely I know but…] Is there Linux version of the client? If not, has anyone had success using a windows VM under Linux?

5. To start the client do I just run the “SwarmAgent.exe” found on my Windows Box at C:\Program Files\Unreal Engine\4.0\Engine\Binaries\DotNET ?

<I can’t answer #5 yet because when I execute the executable I get a “Register for Visual Studio C++ dialog box” - Made me laugh that an executable needs registration with Microsfot to run, it has been a long time since using Windows :wink: >

Cheers.

BTW once I’ve got some solid knowledge of the above I’ll happily update the Wiki with the info so others can use it.

1: Nearly correct because Swarm can only be used to build lighting. It wont deal with any other thing. Swarm manages light building locally and can also distribute the lighting build to remote machines in your network.

2: You dont need to setup anything (If you are building locally only). When you press Build Lighting Unreal automatically runs swarm and does everything for you. Otherwise if you plan to use other computers see #5.