Swap static mesh with destructible mesh

ok i created a destructible mesh tree and then i tried to foliage it but it didnt work so then i tried multiplying it so i could fill the map with trees but then it started lagging and i realized destructible meshes have no LODs

i think i saw someone saying about swapping the static with destructibles but i dont know how to do that im still a beginner XD
could someone explain it with steps or something easy to follow?

It’s a little bit old but the same system applys

ok so i followed the tutorial video (which was a little hard because it was different from what i wanted) and i made a blueprint that turns static trees to destructible in a sphere area collision but the problem is that whenever it touches a tree from the forest it starts randomly picking any tree one by one from the whole forest and turning them into destructible until eventually they all turn destructible unless i move the area away its like if when it touches one tree it touches all of them i dont know why it happens i only want it to transform the one it touches not all of them

that’s a big loop :smiley:
here’s how I do it

it has a big loop because it resembles INFINITY!!! also because i want it to constantly check for static meshes (if i dont put a delay my computer freezes lol)
anyways isnt that the blueprint from the video tutorial dude in which you press a button and the tree falls?
what i want is to make the trees destructible when the character gets near and if they were not destroyed turn back to static when the character gets far
thats why you see sphere collision area it has a radius of 4000 and it follows my character and what it is supposed to do is turn every static tree it touches to destructible but for some reason as soon as it touches one tree it detects the whole foliage as one so it starts transforming all of them