Support for large number of animated actors (like Medieval Total War)

I have been posting the following questions in the “General Discussion” forum. So far no replies, unfortunately.
I am posting here in the feedback forum in the hope that some official response / comments from Epic would be forthcoming.

I am an Indie developer working on a Medieval Total War style game. I program in C++.

Two broad areas of concern for me before I commit to Unreal Engine 4:

1* Support for rendering large number of animated meshes using SKINNED INSTANCING :

See the technique that NVIDIA published a couple of years ago. This involves the use of skinned instancing (DirectX 10 and above) with three levels of LOD.
This enables the NIVIDIA tech demo to render around 10000 animated meshes with three levels of LOD using the hardware supported skinned instancing technique.

http://http.developer.nvidia.com/GPUGems3/gpugems3_ch02.html
http://developer.download.nvidia.com/SDK/10/direct3d/Source/SkinnedInstancing/doc/SkinnedInstancingWhitePaper.pdf

2*Support for switching from animated meshes to animated imposters far away from the camera

I am trying to increase the number of animated characters that I could render simultaneously in the view frustum.

I have gone through the documentation for imposters and flipbook animations. Great features.

I am thinking of the following scenario:

*Use an animated mesh for a character in the near and medium distances from the camera.

*Change to imposters in the far distance.

So far, imposter examples talk only about static meshes.

I have a vague idea that flipbooks would solve my problem.

For a given animated character, is there a technique to switch from animated mesh to flipbook based imposters based on distance from camera?

Everything else in UE4 seems like a dream come true for me. The above two are the gating items before I subscribe.