subscription?

Hi people
Sorry for the stupid questions but I don’t really understand the subscription per month

1. Is there a minimum time you have to hold the subscription for? It says you can cancel at any time but I just wont to cheek
  2. What happened to the unreal Program when I cancel the subscription, can I still use it? Are most features Lock out rendering it unless, some features Lock, but only the ones you really want to use.

I guess you can say I am very new to this and it is more of a hobby then anything ells and I will be spending my 1 - 2 year or so working out how to use the program looking at you tube vids and so on and having a copy of it would be useful. I have downloaded the UDK editor for free and have played around with it (some what). By the look of it, the Blueprint looks far better and looks easier to pick up the UDK3 version (let me know it this is not so) , as I have next to no experience with writing scripts and so on so I would like to keep to a minimum of what I need to know. And I think learning the new version would be better, also as a electrician in my real life the way the blueprints are set out reminds me of circuit diagrams I look at everyday so I think I will have a problem with it

I don’t have any formal experience with Making games, apart for a really crappy side scroller that I made from a program I downloaded from steam, and every other program I have self-learnt such as photoshop, autodesk and old version of Rhino 3d so I figure I can combine then into something useful that may or may not work out and may turn out to be a waste of time.

I don’t mind plying money for the engine and the 5% “tax” doesn’t bother me one bit( good business model and all that) , if I even get that far, ad doubtful as that is……….or not) I just don’t see the need to pay a monthly subscription for 2 years while figure out how the program works.