Stormrite - An open-world Action-RPG for PC & Xbox

Hi all! I thought I’d share Stormrite, the project I’ve been working on for the last 2 years! It initially started off as a solo project, but we now have a team of 5 working on the game (some full-time, some part-time), working towards a release on PC & Xbox! We switched over from UE4 to UE5 in the Preview 1 period, and it’s great to see the engine fully released!

I’ll be posting weekly updates here as a kind of text dev-log, sharing some info about how new features were implemented as I go along!

So to begin, here’s our cinematic trailer and a few gameplay screenies :smiley: Hope you all enjoy!

HilltopFight

NightWalk

PreFight

Sprucewood_forest_4

Oof

Would absolutely love to connect with other devs making similar games! I’m always up for a convo about game dev :smiley:

2 Likes

Hi there @kerds78,

Hope you’re having a wonderful week so far!

I have so many things to say about that trailer so bear with me.

1. The voice acting was fan-bloody-tastic. 100% awakened the inner D&D nerd in me.
  2. Every environment shown was beautifully detailed and truly breathtaking. The village forest areas being my favorite (How could it not??).
  3. The magic combat looks glorious and flashy - as it should be. :joy:

I can’t entirely tell but will the combat be similar to Mortal Online with weapon aiming being a key feature for melee?

1 Like

Thank you! :smiley: environment art is a concept pretty new to me (only really started with this project) so it’s nice to hear it looks nice! And of course, the flashier the magic the better.

Our combat isn’t as precise as having directional attacks, as we’re trying to work on combat on a larger scale (dealing with groups, disengaging/engaging at the right times, etc.) rather than the intricacies of 1-on-1 combat :slight_smile: But I’ll look at Mortal Online as a reference, as I haven’t heard of it before!

1 Like