Stolen assets from the Base Unreal Engine 4 Editor. Calling out Steam "Modder"

So I honestly don’t know how this is being allowed by Valve/Steam. This “Mod” that someone “created” is a complete blatant theft straight from the FPS Starter Template. There is practically nothing changed with this “Mod” and the author is trying to have it selected for the ARK: World Wide Mode Contest.

Please have a look here:

http://steamcommunity.com/sharedfiles/filedetails/?id=631846924&searchtext=

I am honestly bewildered on how this was not caught by Valve during the upload process. Or even the ARK: Survival Evolved team either.

I know I am not a lawyer and have no law background, but it doesn’t take someone with common sense to see this and think “Wow, that’s down right theft.”

I haven’t come across anything else like this (yet), but if one person has already done it, you can probably bet that there are already plenty of other people doing this.

I forgot to mention (for those who don’t know), but this is the FPS Starter Map Template that the Steam “Modder” took from:

I am not sure about the “stolen” Ark is Epic, shooter too.
You can use any of the provided content for your own game, created with UE4(so far i understand things right), but i am not sure about ARK/Mod.
Sure it’s a lazy idea, but why not?
:slight_smile:

Just because he’s/she’s lazy and simply took something (made by someone else), doesn’t make it right. What is the worst part about this fake Mod is that the poster seems to want it to be chosen for the big ARK Modding contest. Now, i doubt they will be picked at all, but if they did pick it. It would be a big legal battle I am pretty sure.

Being lazy doesn’t make it right. And passing it off like no big deal isn’t right either.

I can imagine that the people at Epic Games put some good work and a good chunk of hours into the FPS Starter Template map that this thief just up and took with no care in the world.