Static meshes have no materials when I drop them in my map

Hi,

I just recently downloaded UE4 and have migrated my downloaded sample projects to my current project. I’m not an artist/modeler so I’m relying on all of the free assets I can get. The problem is, when I drop a static mesh into my map, there are no materials applied so all of my objects are grey. I’m sure it’s not too difficult to add the corresponding materials to their static mesh, but I’m a little rusty as I’ve been out of the game design loop for a while. I have tried dragging and dropping a material onto it’s according static mesh, but the result is extremely unsatisfiying. For example: I dropped in one of the snow trees from the Elemental demo, then went to materials and added a snow_tree material to the mesh, but it didn’t align properly at all and just looks like a 2d painting of leaves was slapped on to the surface of the mesh. How would I go about applying these materials correctly and am I going to have to do this for EVERY single mesh I want to add to my world? If so this is going to be a very tedious process to get me setup. I’m coming from UDK where I could just drag in a static mesh that I wanted and it would have its materials already applied.

Thanks,

Skisma

To assign a material to a mesh, you just have to do a double click onto it and in the static mesh editor you can assign them to the material slots. When you migrate stuff from a project to another one without the same folder structure, all the linked textures and materials are gone. So you will have to re-link them. You will have to do some improvements in the material to get a good looking result (e.g subsurface scattering, wind effect ,…)