Stat Audio Command

Hello all,

I am new to using the Stat Audio command and I am hoping to get some help understanding the information that is printed.

The first bit of data I would like help understanding is the Dropped Instances. Are the instances being dropped due to the number of Active Sounds going over the Max Channel limit?

Next is the Evaluation of Concurrency. I see that is a value in the CallCount, is this value stomping Active Sounds before it hits the channel Count?

Lastly, I’d like a definition of what defines an Active Sound. Does a sound that is playing but at 0 Volume go towards the Active Sound count?

Thank you,

I need to add an edit - I just found thisinfo based from the UDK engine. Is the information still accurate?

https://docs.unrealengine.com/udk/Three/StatsDescriptions.html#STAT%20AUDIO

I do not think much has changed for stat audio since the UDK days. It’s a very old, legacy debug and I’m not 100% sure I would trust it, to be honest.

Active Sounds are basically candidates for Wave Instances (which are your voices). Depending on the voice management properties and your version of the Engine, an Active Sound may or may not stick around between callbacks when it’s at Volume 0.

You can see a list of all currently playing sources, including those set to Play When Silent by typing in stat sounds or stat soundwaves.

Some things to keep in mind, SoundCues, which are also quite legacy, have misleading node terminology. The “Mixer” node, as an example, doesn’t actually render a mixdown of the sound into a single playing voice, if there are say 3 SoundWave Players going into a Mixer node, then it will attempt to play 3 sources at once–taking up 3 of your “channels.”

If raising Max Channel Count resolves your dropped instances, then you know you’re hitting your max. Additionally, just watching your voice count in stat sounds or stat soundwaves hit over 32, even momentarily, can have impact on which sounds remain.