Starting 'timeline' by keyboard event

Hi there,

I’m completely new to UE and blueprint so I need a little hepl.

I want to start the timeline that i created by pressing “F” key. I do not know where I should pin on keyboard event.

When I set autoplay and loop in timeline node animation working good. The light goes out and lights up, but I want to have control over this by pressing “F” key.

Any help would be fantastic

Cheers,

Arek

Disable the auto-play and loop, then hook up the ‘Pressed’ on the input to the ‘Play’ on the timeline, do the same for input release and reverse. This will increase/decrease the intensity when you press and release F. If you want to be able to toggle the light by pressing F, hook up the ‘Pressed’ on the input to a ‘Flip Flop’ node, and hook up the ‘A’ to the ‘Play’, do the same thing for B and reverse.

Thanks for reply.

I did as you wrote, but it still is not working. See screenshot

I tried also with ‘Flip Flop’ node, but that did not work.

Also I switch off and switched on the light visibility in rendering tab.

Any other idea?
thanks in advance

Hey,

why not setting a bool after you pressed F. F.e. its called bLightOn.

Start State is -> light is dark

Press F -> set bLightOn to true (or invert it with a NOT)

Play your timeline based on that bool -> so put branch with bLightOn value, if true Play Timeline if not Reverse Timeline,

if you dont want to toggle during a timeline loop then you could take your timeline variable and check if “Timeline->isPlaying” if yes, dont do something if not play regarding your bLightOn bool.

cheers

I expect input is disabled on your blueprint. Go to class defaults I think and change player input from disabled to player 0

You’re right !! But it still does not start the timeline, only light turns off when it is set on in the visibility.

I do not know if I understood you well. I created something like this,

764ce88e6cb2a0f52ba0ed39a7162a7683b622a5.jpeg