Spotify integration = free music for games?

Spotify can be integrated into unreal engine, and songs can be played in it, like if they are being played in a web browser. Does it mean that we can put Spotify in our games and use songs of famous artists?

I would say it would be a bad idea on multiple levels, the licensing of the music would be one thing, but I would imagine that Spotify would want you to get proper licensing to integrate their service as well. So while it might technically be possible it’s probably not something you should pursue without getting licensing rights.

I am not a lawyer, but in my opinion licensing music for games and using Spotify that already has a license to play songs is a bit different, since by playing the song via browser or game - you are playing it in Spotify and the author receives royalties from Spotify for that.
I have seen this in use by “caves rd”

Just because someone else has done it doesn’t mean it’s legal, it likely just means they aren’t popular enough to get noticed.
Even though Spotify pays for the licensing rights, you did not pay them to have it in your game. The argument would be that you could possibly have sales of your game due to that feature that you wouldn’t have otherwise, so you’d be making money off the music without paying anything for it.
Also, what’s the point of having the feature in your game? Why can’t someone just load Spotify in their browser and have music playing while they are playing your game? If you think it’s valuable enough to have as a feature in your game then surely Spotify and the musicians would think it’s worth having you pay them for that?

The answer is no.

From Spotify Developer Policy | Spotify for Developers :

From Complying with Spotify's developer policy | Spotify for Developers :

There’s other stuff, too, but those are the ones that best answer your question.

2 Likes