Splines & Corridors & Blueprints, Oh My!

Hello UE4 Community!

I have started to really get into Blueprints (I usually do just game art) and I am trying to venture into experimenting with things I’ve never tried before.

I am making an environment which has corridors *(hooray!) *[SIZE=2]and I would like to try and build these corridors using the magic of splines.

I’ve created a test mesh and I am following a live stream on Youtube which shows Zak creating a Blueprint for building a race track using splines. I’ve managed to get half way through, taking notes and learning a whole bunch of cool stuff but now its come to the moment where we are starting to include static meshes in our Blueprint.

I am using my test mesh:

[/SIZE]

&stc=1

I’ve given the mesh thickness to stop light leaking and extra loops in preparation for deforming the mesh with the splines.

So far the Blueprint has the very basic functionality, I’ve set it up as an ‘Actor’ blueprint and added my spline component. Following Zak’s tutorial we have made a function that handles the building of the elements/meshes. It also stores local variables for the spline point positions and tangents along with other things I’ll be adding in if I can actually get it working.

Here is the tutorial if anyone is interested: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wR0fH6O9jD8

Just to show you what I have so far here is a screenshot of the Construction Script. The nodes are collapsed so I’ll show each part of the Blueprint as best I can without overloading you guys with screenshots.

Construction Script:

&stc=1

Storing Number Of Spline Points:

&stc=1

Building Data Array:

&stc=1

Here is the function which actually handles the building. It is pretty busy so here are a few more screenshots.

Entry Point:

&stc=1

Sequence (Then 0):

&stc=1

&stc=1

Sequence (Then 1):

&stc=1