Spline Troubles

Hi all,

I’m a student trying to get some experience working with ue4 (specifically blueprint). As a pet project, I started working on a gun that shoots rockets along a variable curve. The basic idea is that a ‘ghost’ bullet gets sent out when fire is pressed, which draws a 3-point spline based on player location, player direction, and the bullet location. Then, when the fire button is released, a rocket travels at a fixed speed along the spline, continuing outward in the tangent direction of the final point.

What I would like to do is approximate a parabola (treating the middle point as the vertex) by ‘scaling’ the control points appropriately.* However, I can’t find any information about scaling control points on a spline inside of blueprint. Also, I don’t know what formula unreal 4 uses for its splines, which makes it hard to even do an approximation. *

If anyone has any kind of information that might help, I’d really appreciate it.

E: I should also mention that I have considered approaching this without the use of splines. Unfortunately there are some very technical math-related problems that come about. In particular, finding a constant-speed paramaterization for the rocket to travel along is very involved.

I have seen very few spline related tutorials, though I haven’t exactly looked for one in awhile.

Have you seen this one? [TUTORIAL] Create a procedural spline road tool in blueprints 4 part video series - Community Content, Tools and Tutorials - Unreal Engine Forums

It may not strictly apply to your case but you may be able to pull some tidbits from it. I think figuring out the math part to match a parabola will be the hard part. This tutorial should at least get you going with spline control.