Sphere looks blocky at very large scale

Hello, I created a planet that can be seen from a window. I just used a simple sphere scaled up to 8000x. I know there are other, better ways to create a planet, but I did this to try it and it looks pretty good. However, at that scale it has blocky edges instead of being an actual sphere. Is there a way to somehow scale it up while visually keeping it a perfect sphere? I’m a beginner to UE, so just learning basics.

Yes, you have to make one with more polys in Blender - 5 mins… :slight_smile:

The default sphere is about 500 verts. There is one in the engine content folder ( Engine/EditorMeshes/EditorSphere ) which is 2333. But really, to blow something up that much, you’ll need more like 20000.

Thank you. Not the answer I was hoping for, but at least now I know why this isn’t a great method.

Were you hoping for the ‘polygonate mesh’ tick box? :slight_smile:

Do you want me to explain what to do in Blender? ( easy ).

That’s EXACTLY what I was hoping for lol. I have never used Blender. I figured I would learn it once I have the basics of UE down. That said, I would love if you could explain how if it isn’t too much trouble to walk me through.

No worries. It’s good to have a stab at something every now and then in Blender. Eventually, you’ll find you can start to make rudimentary assets, and it will grow from there.

Get a copy of Blender from blender.org.

When you start, you’ll have a cube in the scene. Delete that.

Top left menu, Add → Mesh → UV_sphere. You get a raggedy sphere. Don’t click on anything else and you’ll notice bottom left, there’s a collapsed menu, also called ‘UV Sphere’.

Open that, and you can change the number of segments and rings to something like 128x128. Don’t scale it up here, unless you want a bit more of a crash course.

Now right click on there sphere and choose ‘shade smooth’.