Spawning Boss Monster After Certain Distance

Im making a endless runner and im trying to make a boss spawn after a certain distance. Ive been following the tutorials for the endless runner on youtube and ive been trying to spawn him in the same way that I spawn in right and left turns, but I seem to have a problem.

This is my script for adding the boss monster, and im trying to make him spawn in after 10 tiles at the moment.

My problem at least what I think is that after I spawn a right or left turn, it resets the strait run to 0 which means following my logic it will be impossible to reach 10 strait tiles. Any way I can get around this? Keep as simple as possible im new to this

From what I gathered you want to spawn him after 10 total tiles, no matter if they are turns or a straight path.

Would creating a total tiles traveled float be out of the question? You could just routinely add onto the float and spawn the boss if it exceeds certain values.

Thats an awesome idea, now… how would I implement/DO something like that. Im quite new, im just willing to learn and I have this idea that has been nagging at me and I want to get it done :). Im not sure how to make it so I can count the total number of tiles. See in the future I want to be able to change it so after the boss the level will change to some sort of other scenery and other stuff.

Exactly the same way as you implemented the “straights” variable. Just add another 1 called “tilesTraveled” and give it a ++ at the same time as the straights and just don’t reset it until the boss has spawned or whatever other conditions you want.

Im having trouble implementing this, what do you mean by giving it a ++, and where would I add in the tiles traveled? I tried something similar and when I stop it from resetting back to zero my curves just start to overlap constantly.