Spawning actors during level load

I originally approached this problem using Blueprint because I felt it might be a good exercise for me to get more familiar with Blueprint. It seems apparent now that what I am trying to do isn’t possible in Blueprint, so I’ll give it a shot here instead.

To put it as simply as possible: I want to create some actor instances and add them to the level when a level is loaded.

The goal being to dynamically create some actors, which are not saved in the level data, and have them appear in the level as if they had been hand-placed in the level. This means they should appear in the level when it is loaded in the editor as well as when that level is loaded in the game. For this reason, spawning actors in response to BeginPlay or similar events is not a viable option.

I’m an experienced C/C++ programmer, but my knowledge of the inner workings of Unreal is pretty much non-existent. This is my first attempt at any Unreal hacking. I’ve been stepping through the code in the debugger, and can see some opportunities for where this might be possible. But not being experienced with Unreal, I’m not sure where the “correct” place to do this would be, and what the “correct” way to create these actors would be so that they are treated just as any actor that had been placed in the level.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated, as long as that advice does not suggest to use BeginPlay :slight_smile:

Thanks in advance!

(for reference, the thread where I posed this question using Blueprints is here.

Hi,

in the C++ FirstPersonShooter-Template Projectiles are spawned in the AFirstPersonCharacter::OnFire Method.
Maybe you could have a look at the example code.

You would write something like:

FVector SpawnLocation = …;
FRotator SpawnRotation = …;

GWorld->SpawnActor<MyOwnActorClass> ( MyOwnActorClass::StaticClass(), SpawnLocation, SpawnRotation );