Source build - Can I build engine once and build Project code within editor?

Hi - I am a novice at unreal.

I’m working on an existing unreal project. It’s currently using a customized unreal 4.27 that is referenced in the project.

Whenever I make changes in the game logic it requires me to close the editor and rebuild from visual studio. Is it possible for me to build the customized unreal engine once then just load the Project file from there as a normal unreal project? Whenever I try to open it it complains about mis-matched versions and then says the modules are out of date. When I try to rebuild it says it can’t do it while the engine is open…

Any help is appreciated!!

Do you only have 1 visual studio solution for both the engine and your project? Or do you have your project in a separate locaiotn?

Does your game show up in the directory of your visual studio solution or does it just say UE4 at the top?

You should be able to edit just like normal unless you need to add a plugin or something major requiring C# or C++. Those modules being out of date is some kind of persistent problem that it appears to be a problem for A LOT of people building from source it seems. I just went through this and it took forever and a lot of headache with no answers. Forgive the length, but I want to get this out there to help some devs out. The modules are likely plugins like AdvancedSteamSessions?