Sorting algorithms in Blueprints

It is common knowledge that blueprints do not include sorting functions. In my previous experiences, I have been able to create simple sorting functions easily. However, during my current project, I faced the challenge of sorting large data arrays and found that the sorting process was either very slow or unsuccessful. Since I wanted to avoid using C++ code or third-party development, I independently researched this issue.

After conducting some research, I have decided to share my findings in the hopes that it will be useful to others. I started by studying the theory behind sorting algorithms and discovered that most functions I had previously written or seen on forums were variations of two simple algorithms: Selection and Insertion. However, these algorithms were ineffective for large arrays in blueprints, as they would fail or take a very long time to execute, even when I increased the loop limit to 100,000,000.

To address this issue, I studied several basic algorithms and chose a few to implement with blueprints for testing purposes. Below, I have listed the implemented algorithms in order of increasing performance and included statistics and average time values to compare their effectiveness.

BUBBLE SORT

SELECTION SORT

INSERTION SORT

The first three algorithms are slow and unsuitable for working with large and medium arrays.

COMB SORT

SHELL SORT

Comb sort and Shell sort work much better and show good results even on large arrays.

I noticed one interesting thing - all of the above algorithms work twice as slowly in macros.

The following two algorithms are more complex and contain recursion.

QUICK SORT

INTROSORT

I didn’t use heapsort as it’s overkill for blueprints and replaced insertion sort with comb sort as the results were better.

I used a shuffle at the input to the Quicksort and intro sort functions to avoid efficiency degradation on partially sorted arrays.