Some questions regarding Machinima pipeline/matinee

Hi. I’m a veteran modder with minor Unreal experience (mostly materials, lighting and particles). I’m looking to push a very large-scale, private machinima-esque project into Unreal 4. However, my initial research raises a lot of difficult questions I don’t know how to answer at this point in time, so I’m looking for some input, hopefully from someone with experience in the subject.

First and foremost, I’m not an artist. I’m working mostly with third party assets. I can mangle stuff somewhat and know how to use plugins like FumeFX to make textures for particles, but I can’t animate or anything myself. I know how to make inorganic static meshes, simple vehicles, and other kinds of props, but that’s it. I have a lot of experience porting graphics and audio and remastering them, but actually editing them like rigging or animation are entirely beyond me. This is the major crutch of the project and will probably lead to a lot of pain, as it appears Matinee was intended to be a front-end for compositing pre-recorded/mocapped scenes and not for stringing existing animations together to make a scene. I do audio and writing primarily, so I’ll have to figure out how to make ends meet. To that end…

1.) Matinee doesn’t support animation blueprints it seems. I cannot send animation commands to an actor using an animation blueprint. I rely on animation blueprints to weight certain bones to each other between character meshes with components that have different skeletons and also for syncing the body parts (though I have to manually make the same animation blueprint information between every skeleton, greatly increasing workload…). I’ve read that there’s a Matinee update in the works. Will this address the lack of animation blueprint support? Or will I have to somehow modify the assets at the source level to fuse their skeletons? (I have no idea how I’d do this, but it seems it may be mandatory to proceed.)