Some Book Reference for Gameplay Programming in C++

Hey Guys! I’m new to programming in Unreal Engine with C++, but I’ve done programming in Javascript for apps and C# in Unity for making mobile games.
I’m familiar to object oriented programming in C++ programming, but now I’m getting started with C++ in Unreal after spending a good time with blueprints and getting familiar with how UE4 works.

I’m following along with the Youtube tutorials in UE4 channel and also going through API documentation.

I know is not a UE4 related question, but I want to ask if you guys could suggest some good books on Gameplay Programming in C++.

Thanks. Cheers.

Not a book, but to get me started I followed through the free courses on CPPInstitute.com

C++ is one of the most documented languages in the world, shouldn’t be hard to find them :slight_smile: There are game-specific books on programming out there. GameInstitute.com also has some amazing C++ / Mathematics tutorials.

I’m trying to think how our old resident Rama would put it… he’d probably say something along the lines, “Use your unique imagination when you create your code.” or maybe something along those lines. Anyways the point is you’re never going to find any true cookie cutter solution to the thing you’re trying to create. So you should experiment with your own unique kinds of patterns and algorithm’s. I know that isn’t exactly and answer to your question but it might save you a few bucks. Most of the time gameplay books and… well, programming books in general, simply try to get you to think outside of the “box”. So if you’re already thinking outside the box they might not help you.

Thank for the Reply. What you are saying is correct, but I’m not asking for some pre built solutions or code snippets. I was just looking for something that would help me strengthen my game programming in C++, something like best practices kind’a thing.

Hope you got what I’m trying to say. But thanks anyways