Solved - Accessed None trying to read property... that I know is valid.

Hai, noob here, because this makes NO sense to me and I feel like it should be relatively simple.

To explain screenshots, the first one is the error being thrown and the node which is pointed to. I have inserted “IsValid” nodes in place of the main menu variable and the loading progress variable, and both of them return as valid references, but when I plug them into the “set percent” node, it returns that error.

](filedata/fetch?id=1835894&d=1606271998)

The weirdest thing to me is that this is the exact same variable used in second screenshot, and that one doesn’t throw the error.

](filedata/fetch?id=1835895&d=1606272121)

This is in the same blueprint BEFORE the node that throws the error.

](filedata/fetch?id=1835896&d=1606272272)

I went to the first instance where these events are called, and put a full one second delay on it firing, to be 100% sure that the main menu widget was loaded in before it fired, and it still throws the error. At this point I am suspicious that something is firing pre-emptively due to the event dispatchers loading in on BeginPlay, because even if I disconnect the execution pin for the series of dispatch binders, it still throws the error on test launch even though it compiles cleanly.

What am I missing here?

Try adding an isvalid node before error city. The delay is likely just postponing stuff that is going to fire preemptively regardless.

1 Like

Yeah, that is where I inserted the “is valid” nodes. Came back valid, but nodes after that returned the error anyway.

So if this returns the error regardless, how on earth do I set up the events with the variables so they actually let the program run?

Can you show a close up of where set the MainMenu ref? Or is MainMenu a user widget child of MyHud?

If this is true, then the Output log should show your where it tries to access none.