Social AI Behavior in games, Why are they so few of them? and are they a possibility in UE4?

Just a heads up before I start with the topic at hand, I’m not a programmer, far from it, so take everything with a grain of salt.

Ok, so what is this all about? You might or might not remember a little game called Façade launched in 2005, that game took the internet by storm, why?

It was the first game to feature an interactive AI on a social environment, you as a player type the answers to their questions and depending on the answer you provide, the game moves to a new Beat(event) inside the Beat everything is dynamic and on the background a new beat is getting ready depending on the outcome.

Now that we are on the same page, my question is why is there so few games like this? when we have Alexas responding to all our inquiries, clearly the technology is there, Façade was release on 2005, that is PS2 era, and since then there hasn’t been any game trying to compete with it.

I want to understand a bit more of the difficulties implementing these systems, and the limitations with unreal engine 4, because I would really love for these games to be a reality, not just an obscure game genre from the internet.

Thank you for reading.

Novelty is a powerful, but a short-lived beast.

As you write, Façade came out in PS2 era -the teenager years of videogames. Everything was about shooting, being cool and rebelious. God of War wasn’t a thoughtful daddy, but a revengeful nothing, but angry "dude-bro. "Being on-par with contemporary art was a glistering star to where videogames can travel. Conceptual art pieces though don’t sell well as a product to mainstream. One of the major reasons why these simulators are not as popular.