So I have this idea...

Hello Unreal bros!

I’m new to unreal, I’m putting this out there right away. I’m no game dev (only a 2 year college course where I studied Game development on a very basic level with 3d models), I’m actually a Film Director (aspiring).
For years, literally, like 7 years I’ve had a concept for a game, I’ve waited for years for a game of this sort to come along but there’s only ever been games which have touched one element of my idea, so… I’m making the game myself.

I have a predicament, do I use a game dev kit for unreal and create a mod for a current game which already has steam integration and many elements I wish to include or do I just start a new project and learn the entire unreal engine while I slowly build the game from the ground up. Before you go ahead and read my idea, I’m a deep end jumper, I’ll sit and learn the engine for only a short period I learn while being hands on.

So 's my idea…
I’ve got a 3,000 word document currently, developing the idea if anyone would like to read a copy.
[SPOILER]
In a nutshell, It’s an open world, MMO FPS Survival simulator. I want to create a post-apocalyptic world with infected humans and randomly generated ‘war events’ i.e random map parts being ‘nuked’ leaving behind broken bits of material players can collect.
The game is a skill-based shooter, looking at the many ‘DayZ’ mods such as ‘Epoch’ except, the core element of the game is making a base and sustaining it, my idea for based becomes complex looking at the player starts with one tent, they collect materials and players join them then can upgrade to a small ‘settlement’ I want the player to be able to build walls and traps as zombies and wild animals and players fight to survive. (Think Age of empires now).

The game will have a lot of GUI elements. I want an economy to be a big element of the game too. There will be skills the player can develop in, maybe even a skill tree.
[/SPOILER]

Now my issue,