Smudges on Objects: Lighting issues related with lighting and material

Hi everyone, I am a beginner kind of UE4 user and an **architect experimenting with UE and trying to adapt it to my workflow. There are many issues that I am having trouble with but this one is the most important one that makes me suffer. First of all, I want to talk about how I generate my models and my method to import them into UE4:

I use 3dsmax to make models, when the object is done, i convert it to mesh and add the UVW map for texturing and finally flatten the texture with **unwrap then chose the channel 2 **in order not to have lightmap issues in UE4. Forgot to mention, I reset all smoothing groups before texturing. Export it as **.fbx **and import it into UE4. In the editor, I select the UV map 1 and source lightmap 1 as can be seen in the attachement.

When these procedures are done, i chose the lighting quality production then build the scene. The thing is, when i build the lighting there are smudges appear on the objects. Nor is this all, **reflective materials looks awry **and the reflections of the light on the floor doesnt look all right.

I would be grateful if you guys can help me to solve these problems. Thanks a lot…

Maybe your lightmap resolution ain’t high enough? mind to show your UV layout channel 2 for lightmap?
reflection qualitty can set in postprocess in order to get more presentable looking but in engine the reflection is not so perfect compare to pre-rendered of cos.

Hi,

UV unwrapping plays a very important role in Lighting. We can remove most of the smudges and artifacts with proper and clean UV unwrapping. Once, you have proper unwrapping you can play with Lightmass settings of
1 - Individual Mesh (Lighting -> Overridden Light Map res, increase this value till blotches and smudges disappear; Max 2048)
2 - World settings (Lightmass Settings)
(and Finally BaseLightmass.ini though IMO it’s not required to change ini values)