Smooth third person camera movement?

Hi, everyone

I’m very new to UE4 and though i found some similar topics here i haven’t manage to find the right answer.

What is needed: switch between two camera positions while a key is pressed - default follow cam from BP template and an over the shoulder close camera position. So far i’ve managed to do it via SetWorldLocation, but it looks jerky. What i need is a smooth transition between these states to liven it up a little. I’ve tried “Vinterp To” - didn’t get it to work, i guess i’m doing it wrong

Please advice how can i get this up and running in BP

Set View Target With Blend node (within player controller) will suit your needs the best i believe.

It will change your view target(camera target, in other words) in a time you specify yourself.

Unfortunately it doesn’t work for me, maybe i’m doing it wrong. Transition is smooth indeed, but 1) i can’t specify the desired camera location (it always zooms into the character at the middle of the torso) and 2) i can’t get it to unzoom halfway when i release the button. Can you please provide an example?

Oh, sorry for misleading information!

Set View Target With Blend should look for a first camera component found in in specified actor, and in this case, it should just stay at the same position as your original camera, not sure why it moves view to the torso actually.

Foundational 3rd Person Camera to Shoulder Camera Toggle - Blueprint - Epic Developer Community Forums this is what you’re asking for. Sorry once again, forgot what this node actually do.

Also tried it - for some reason it doesn’t work properly at all. I suspect i’ve done something wrong with the vector sum node… or i’m just too dumb for UE)

Also tried it - for some reason it doesn’t work properly at all. I suspect i’ve done something wrong with the vector sum node… or i’m just too dumb for UE)