Slate / UI - General Questions

Few things feel like I’m missing when using Slate to make widgets. I’m completely new to it but besides these things I have no issues making my UI.

1. There are dotted border lines for each object displaying the area used. That’s fine for construction but how do I turn them off to get a good preview of my widget?

2. If I want to change an option, for example ‘Is Enabled’ under ‘Behavior’ for multiple objects, how do I do that? Every time I change values for multiple objects I seem to have to do it one by one.

3. Is there a way to round the edges of a Border element? I have resorted to using images so it’s really just convenience.

Thanks.

I can’t believe no one knows the answer to these questions.

At least 1/2 are mandatory for this type of software, so where are the options?

Maybe because UMG is much more comfortable? Id happylie answer you any umg question

I think he actually might be using UMG.

None of that is possible right now, but UMG is still an infant. Give it some time for these kinds of features. Though I suspect 3 will never happen because UMG supports 9-slice sprites. An image is the way to go in that situation.

I know for a fact multi-edit is being worked on. Patience :slight_smile:

Yeah, it’s UMG. But I only know that because I googled UMG, doesn’t seem to be called that in the engine.

3 is a convenience and I ended up using images, so that’s fine, was just being hopeful.

I hope they will also make a much more intuitive way to position widgets when they’re relevant to objects in the game world such as a name tag / health bar floating above a player. I’ve got it going but was a hassle.

Edit:

Another huge issue, or bug, is that the colors I give the elements in the editor are always considerably different in game, noticeably darker/desaturated values. I’ve removed every form of post processing.

Edit2:

Text doesn’t seem to have the ability to shrink to match it’s container?