SketchUp to Unreal Problem

Hi guys!

I have followed UE4 and its features for a long time. And i admire UE4’s reality and quality. I’m an architect and i love to use SketchUp. It’s popularity increasing day by day, lots of software release plugins for SketchUp. But UE4 hasn’t got any plugin and exporting a model is like burning in hell.

I followed topics at forum and i saw lots of ideas for SketchUp to UE4. But there hasn’t any solution yet.

I tried SketchUp to Max then Max to UE4 — overlapping problems,
I tried SketchUp to Blender then Blender to UE4 — overlapping problems,
I tried SketchUp to UE4 with exporting FBX — overlapping problems,
I tried SketchUp with using SketchUV then export UE4 — overlapping problems,
I watch videos on youtube, read posts from this forum but i can’t do it exactly.

I know there will be a plugin in future but now i want to do it maybe in a hard way. I saw some videos which is made on SketchUp with UE4 and i know there is people who achieve this process.

Please share your workflow with SketchUp and UE4 step by step. I want to achieve this and make a tutorial for people like me.

Thank you…

Maybe have a look at my workflow (post #7) here: https://forums.unrealengine.com/showthread.php?69976-Unreal-%28-amp-Sketchup%29-in-the-architectural-design-process

i already tested this process and overlapping problem still continued.

why not post an image of the problem or better yet, a sample skp file? I see no reason why it still should give problems if you use blender / Max for the more complex geometry

A good quick workflow I use is to export from Sketchup to Max as a 3ds file, then I apply a UV Unwrap to the mesh and hit ‘flatten mapping’. Then I export to UE4 as an fbx.

You can also apply a UVW modifier on another channel and set it to ‘box’ for your tiling materials.

when i try directly SketchUp to UE4 with FBX file…

here is 3th basement floor of my project.

and it has 4 groups (floor,walls, ceiling and ramp)