Simpler way to separate the head from body from a skeletal mesh

Hi, first of all, i am a totally noob about modeling, and game art in general, i am learing about this, but this is what i need to do now for my project:
I have one skeletal mesh character already rigged. I need show/hide the head in game, but when hide, the head must cast a shadow (a classic True FPS).
So the simpler way i think is to separate the head mesh from the body. The problem is, can i do that without mess the UVs, skeleton rig, etc?
Where can i find some information about how to do this properly?
If someone know a better way to do this, for example through materials and masking, please let me know :slight_smile:

Oh, I could use Blender or MODO, I have the trial version of this one but i think i could buy it (the little that i could see was very nice)
thanks and im sorry for my English.

Its definitely something you need to do in what ever model editing program you want to use.

• Separate the polys used for the head.
  • Export two different meshes.

There really isn’t any simpler way then that.
Don’t ask me how - been too long since I mucked around in Blender :frowning:

Thanks Kris for your answer, yes, i know i will end up dividing the mesh. Just want to learn a properly way to do it :slight_smile:
Especially to try to not redo UV, rig etc if it is possible. (I’m not the skilled artist)

Removing the head from a UV mapped model will just remove those UV’s in Blender the rest will stay exactly the same. In fact everything else will stay the same (rigging etc.). But, why would you remove his head? Just curious.

Making the head a separate mesh from the rest of the mesh is handy when using a true first person viewpoint.
You can set the head mesh to be invisible in the first person view, but still cast a shadow.