Simple Character Creator

Hey all,

I’m looking to make a character creation screen in the vein of stardew valley (Stardew Valley - Character Creation - YouTube) or fantasy life (Journal - Fantasy Life | A Journey Begins! - YouTube). Something with a base mesh that I can have different outfits, hair, and faces for that can be colored however the player wants (either with sliders, or with pre-made textures they can select from)

I’m a 3D artist who has made a few games before, so I’m familiar with unreal and blueprints, but I’m not entirely sure how to go about this, concept wise. If anyone has a tutorial, or an explanation of how you would approach this I would be grateful; I’m only finding tutorials that are going into boob jiggle and morph targets, which seem a little overwhelming for me to start with.

I’d like to have 3-4 body types available at some point, but if the best way to do that is with morph targets as opposed to separate meshes, I’ll hold off.

Eventually, I’d like the player to be able to change their appearance (add other clothes, get their hair ‘redone’ like animal crossing, ect) , I don’t know if that has any affect on this system or not but mentioning it just in case.

Also, if someone could give me a quick rundown on the best way to create/separate the meshes to be compatible with this system that would be extremely helpful. I also want to use this system to generate random AI characters down the line, so if I can manage to just use one base and one skeleton that’s the dream (for animation especially).

Thanks so much in advance if you can help!!!

Well there are many ways to create characters for UE4 , my methods are simple because they are the fastest way to get a character into my world but the least detailed in some sense. The first one is free and has a great community for getting extra assets and the second one you have to have an adobe license which I have but use the free one sometimes to supplement what the other doesn’t have.