Should i use landscape or can i just use "blocks"

Hi, i am fairely new to UE5. I have figure something out but i’m still learning so bearover with me and my lack of knowlegde.

I have started a project where i want to create something of the lines of the game “control” in terms of level design. So at this point i am planning some stuff and looking at how to do it. Where i am stuck at the moment is should i use landscape or modeling mode with dynamic mesh cubes? (dynamic mesh cubes just so i don’t fill my content folder up to much)

I welcome anything in terms of knowledge etc.

I plan on making a “building” of some sort, a big one with multiple floors using a ploygon pack i got my hands on with a sale.

Thanks in advanced

Hi, welcome to the community!

For a game with level design similar to Control’s level design, you don’t have to use landscapes.

You can use static meshes which can be divided into:

• Architecture: modular wall, floor, ceiling, column, frame meshes… etc
  • Props: furniture, decorations, lights, screens, paintings… etc

This.

Something like God of War wouldn’t be landscapes, everything is like a detailed mesh.

Something like Elden Ring could actually be the same but could also be made with a landscape. Large, open, gently sloping hills and whatnot wouldn’t need a lot of tessellation, so outside landscapes, static-meshes could do just fine. Especially if you then decorate them with detail meshes.

Overall, Landscapes are a system within Unreal that work well for some use-cases, but not necessarily-all. Take a look at your game-type and see how critters are going to run around.

I personally like them as you can do quite a bit within a shader to lay stuff out procedurally, but again, it’s not for all projects.