Download

Should I keep the engine up to date?

I’m currently working on a project in 4.7.6 and this project will no doubt take me months (I’m new to unreal and therefore slow)

And I’m wondering if I should adopt changes ASAP, or if I should stick to my engine version?
I just keep seeing threads pop up about 4.8 changes and workarounds etc, and I was wondering if I should jump on the updates and tackle the changes or just stick to one version?

I keep my game up to date with the releases (not the preview releases) … there will come a stage where I will call a version freeze on the game engine and will then stick with the latest game engine version at that stage.

My advice … and please note it is merely advice … would be that if you are planning on releasing the project and you are still early on in development … keep your project up to date with the latest release (v4.7.6 at time of writing).

If you are not planning on releasing the project and are merely learning, then upgrading to preview releases might be more beneficial to you.

This is the approach I am taking.

I would advise to only upgrade if there’s something you need. You’ll save yourself countless hours of work for very little if any gain.

Plus, just because stuff works in previous versions doesn’t mean it’ll work in newer versions. There are a lot of breaking changes to AGameMode in 4.8 for example.

There is a problem with this: If the next version doesnt have stuff you need, you dont update. But what if the version after that or even a few versions ahead has things you need(features or bug fixes)? The upgrade pain will be a lot harder.

As long as your project is not in alpha stage, keep updating. If you are finalizing(from alpha or a bit sooner) freeze it -> keep the version you are working with.

Alright, I suppose there’s a mix here, as I am doing the project as a learning exercise I do want to release it eventually as a demo/portfolio piece.