Should I go with C# and Unity or C++ and Unreal/Some other engine

So I started learning C++ about a few weeks ago, still a rookie, and then I realized that Unreal was paid for and Unity was free, but did not support C++. I initially started learning C++ to design console programs at first with Xcode (yes im a mac user) and then branch out into making games with Unity, Unreal, or some other game engine.

I don’t have nearly enough money to pay for Unreal, which is one of the big reasons why I’m leaning towards dropping C++ and learning C# for Unity.

That’s basically all. So, should I learn C# and go with Unity, or should I learn C++ and somehow get Unreal or get another game engine?

p.s. im leaning towards C# and Unity but i just need some advice

inb4 biased answers

Welcome! :wink:

I personally would go with C++ because it is also used in other engines like cryengine. You just have to pay the 20$ once. After that you can cancle your subscription -> you will be still abel to use the engine/publish commercial games/…, but you wont get any updates until you re-subscribe :slight_smile:

A big advantage of the UE4 are blueprints -> you can easily create entire games with them in a very short time + the community is awesome + you get access to the source code ( this can be very useful -> especially when you are a programmer) :smiley:

C# is a more modern language and easier to pick up and run with.

c++ is powerful and its much more widely used.

Blueprints are an option but personally I dislike them intensely.

C# may be soon available for UE4, via 3rd party developer, so this may be the ideal solution.

c# and unity is way easier to get into, also unity is feature rich and relatively bug free.
ue4 is very beta atm and has been since the start, it also lacks in lots of areas, c++ is much more difficult to use, add in the ‘Epic flavoring’ to the code and its messy and convoluted to say the least.