Should I give up on UE?

I’m a developer. With an age of 13. I’m learning C++ and making good progress. I wanted to make games using the languages and that’s when I heard about UE. Although, I do keep on getting stuck on UE. I think that my intelligence may be too low to be trying to learn UE. Should I quit?

Of course not! But learning UE4 and C++ at the same time is a lot to bite off, even for seasoned programmers coming from other languages. I don’t know how long you’ve been at it, but it can’t have been all that long. Keep at it. Maybe stick to Blueprints while you find your way around Unreal and continue to work on learning C++ separately. You’re only 13 and have plenty of time to just mess around with it to figure out how everything works. You’re not racing anyone.

1 Like

I have been able to make a game with only blueprints (not released yet). It is an FPS shooter game with a single player and multiplayer mode. I don’t know C++ but am familiar with all of the variable types. Don’t give up, unreal engine is one of the best tools for making applications in my opinion.

This is quite the blast from the past. When I was 13 I was very much in your shoes. I remember buying every Game Development book I could get my hands on and getting frustrated when I couldn’t wrap my head around DirectX and all the math involved (engines like UE4 didn’t exist and certainly weren’t free to use).

Like you, I was thinking “Maybe I’m too dumb for this”. But you know what? I kept doing my best, graduated College with a BS in CompSci and have been programming games professionally for about 15 years now. So, trust in what I’m going to tell you.

• You are NOT too dumb. Learning is a process, not a check box. You will never know everything about anything. I am still learning every day, and I’ve been doing this for a while now. Accept that you don’t know everything and that’s okay. Ask for help, read, research, experiment.