Should I create my own assets for levels if I make my own game?

^What title says. I’ve not been modeling or sculpting even once as I am very new to game design, but if I happened to want to make a serious, serious game to put on the market would it be a bad idea to use others assets? Now I know there is a reason for the Marketplace of course, but do you think it would matter?

Thanks in advance!

I’ve played games that were more or less entirely made using royalty free assets. I think there’s some stigma, but at the end of the day your game would be more likely to sell than it would if it was filled with programmer art.

It’s something I’m coming to terms with and having to swallow myself. I know my art wouldn’t stand the test of a “finished” product.

I think it’s perfectly fine getting simple things like vegetation, rocks, street signs or random stuff to use as decoration… (so for level design, it’s alright) …but I don’t think it’s necessarily a good idea to use bought assets for things that player attention is focused on for a significant portion of time - like characters, weapons, enemies, etc. I’m not saying there’s anything inherently wrong with using them, but if someone recognizes a “zombie model” in your game’s screenshots as the same one that’s also appeared in several other shovelware games, chances are they’re not going to want to buy your game.