Should I buy different hardware to optimize my game?

Hi all,

I’m working on a big open world game and we are buying more hardware because we are increasing our team size (1 to 4 :P).
At this point I was wondering if we should stick with a particular hardware configuration or maybe we should try to buy different computers to test our game with different hardware specs and drivers.

What should I do?

I’m a real noob about optimizing stuff, I’m sorry about that.

First of all a little disclaimer. I’m no expert for this either. This is just what I personally think would be best but I have no particular experience.

Generally weak gear or even middle wear gear is not ideal for development. You shouldn’t make compromises to have more variety there.
However I would suggest to have at least one AMD and one Intel / Nvidia rig with equal power (with that I mean equal stats on paper. For example an I7 4k something with 3.4 GHz and a similar quadcore from AMD so you have a direct reference between those).
This will show you how large the difference between those two structures is and you can give reliable estimates for both systems.

Again I am not talking from experience (in game development) but for other software and generally for games there is most of the time a difference between those systems with equal specs.

@Loxli: The quickest win would be to open your game to closed testing and provide an easy way for people to post PC specs and/or bugs while they are testing. Based on that information you could then quickly be able to optomise your game and include the community at the same time.

Having said that however, if you have the cash to burn then Erasio’s suggestion would work. I personally prefer to use Guinea Pigs … errrr … testers … as this gives me access to a wider range of hardware and allows me to simulate real-world rigs without having to buy any. 8-}

Unfortunately I can’t let the people play test the game for now, and we have to buy 3 new computer anyway.