Should I begin this?

Hi!

I am an architect and I thought it would be amazing to design and create places with this. I am kinda quick to learn and I have previously begun learning visualbasic a long time ago, processing and some stuff so I guess I dont really know c++ but perhaps I have itsy bitsy more experience then the average Joe. I just wonder if I should mpay for this and learn? I can put a maximum of 5-6 hours per week into learning it and I dont want to spend my freetime if I basically have to become a programmer.

Would love any input on the matter!

HI 7raafy,

i am no expert on UR4 but i did spend a lot of time working with UDK(UR3) and i would say if your looking to just show off environments virtual walkthroughs with UR4, I would say you would little to no hard codeing in c++.

I would say you will need level design (UR4), but you will need parts to build your environment with, which has to be done outside of ur4, skills/programs like 3D modeling (3dsmax) and texturing

hope this helps(photoshop)

Ohh yeah I know rhino really well and 3dmax is similar. Level design doesnt take long to learn?

Thanks for the reply!

definitively yes !

give it a try, for what you are planning to do , programming is not very very important

you need to learn level design , BSP geometry, materials, lighting, and some modeling with an external program (like blender/max/maya …etc)

There is no reason to use c++ unless you need to write very complex systems. You can do almost anything with blueprints.

You just want to walk through environments with UE4, right?

If so, everything is already done by Epic Games. The engine itself is very complete and easy to use. In other words, you just have to create the scenarios and you’re ready to go.

What the guys are saying about level design is exactly what I told: scenarios, environments. You have to create them by your own and then you’ll have something your customers will fall in love.