SHORT CINEMATIC - "The Dragon Sisters"

As I’m learning Unreal, I often just grab characters and environments from the Marketplace that I think would look cool together, and play with them like toys in a sandbox. Usually by the end of each experiment, I have an idea for a whole short film or feature film, haha. The Marketplace assets can work great as writing prompts.

In this case, the little cinematic below isn’t communicating much of a story, just hints of one. But I really like how the aesthetic turned out.

https://youtube.com/watch?v=KMBgchqR5sY

My next goal is to learn how to bring faces to life with animation and facial performance capture.

My background is in live action filmmaking which translated great for camera and lights in UE4. But other aspects of UE4 are proving very challenging to learn - aspects that are completely alien to my background.

The camera work and animation are looking triple A, awesome work mate. What are the challenges you are facing that are so difficult?

Thanks! Cinematography is what I enjoy the most in Unreal Engine, and directing scenes. All the other aspects, I just have to learn so I can set up scenes and then do what I love: Cinematography and also directing.

As far as things I struggle with or haven’t tackled yet…

Modular characters.
I’ve used some but I feel like I’m just getting lucky if I get them to a useable state. I don’t really know what I’m doing. I know there’s game-like interfaces for players to assemble modular characters…but if there’s anything intuitive like that on this (filmmaking) side of Unreal, I haven’t found it. I’m up in the Blueprints, and watching tutorials, but there’s something I’m not getting.

Hair and cloth physics.