Setting up UE5.3 to create a project for PICO4 headset

hi,

I have built a couple of projects using Unreal so far and it’s brilliant.

I recently got a PICO4 vr headset and would love to build a project that runs on it.
I spent several days going over documentation, trying to figure out how to set up a UE5.3 project for the PICO4 vr headset, but so far it’s mostly been very confusing.
I’ll admit that I part of that is probably because it’s a whole new area that I have no experience with but the PICO documentation isn’t very clear either.

The only video that looked promising turned out to be about UE 4.27, and following that for a lack of something more recent I ended up with the engine giving warnings about missing OpenXR plugins (that the video told me to disable) and a message that the project needs to be rebuilt on startup. Which fails.

Just to get my head around the basics, I would love to know if:

• how AGDE + Visual Studio relates to using Android Studio: I cannot find out whether they are alternatives - or if one of them, or both, are needed
  • some pages say I need Visual Studio 2022, others say 2019
  • most Pico resources recommend configuring the VR project as a C++ project instead of a Blueprint based one, because “it could possibly cause the project to run in 2D mode”. Fair enough, but trying to do that resulted in “project needs to be rebuilt” - which fails. And it’s a rather vague recommendation anyhow: do blueprint projects always fail to run properly, or often, or just sometimes or rarely?
  • is it possible to specify a VR headset as “display device” without bothering about other VR features, like the ability to pick up items? Would this be easier to achieve than setting up a true VR project?
  • has anyone succeeded in setting up a PICO4 project with a recent version of UE - say 5.2 or 5.3?Is there maybe a resource or tutorial that targets this combination that I missed?

Any help greatly appreciated!

1 Like